Experiments and Modeling in Astroparticles and Cosmology

Head: Alexandre MARCOWITH


The Astroparticle Modeling and Experiment (EMA) team studies astrophysical sources emitting non-thermal high-energy radiation produced by relativistic particles or cosmic rays.

The team specializes on the one hand in the study of galactic sources (supernova remnants, pulsar nebulae, massive star clusters), and on the other hand in the study of transient sources (gamma ray bursts, supernovae).

EMA team is involved in several present, FERMIHESS and future experiments CTASVOM. The EMA team is also involved in the LSST project.

The team has developed a specialization ranging from instrumentation (LIDAR), data analysis (FERMI, HESS), modeling of physical processes producing high energy emission and ultimately more theoretical works dealing with acceleration and transport of cosmic rays, in particular by means of numerical simulations (using magnetohydrodynamic codes such as RAMSES, and AMR-VAC coupled to kinetic modules) and analytical calculations. More recently the team is studying the production of energetic particles of moderately relativistic energies in the environment of young stars.

Research topics

  • High-energy astrophysical explosive sources studies : supernovae, gamma-ray bursts.
  • High-energy astrophysical cosmic ray sources studies: supernova remnants, pulsar wind nebulae, massive star clusters.
  • Theory of Cosmic rays : production, acceleration, propagation. Analytical studies and numerical simulations.
  • Accreting systems – jets : compact objects, young stars.
  • Interstellar medium: feed back, dust.
  • Dark Matter and Dark Energy

IN2P3 Projects,INSU National Programs, Observations Services, others

  • Fermi, H.E.S.S., CTA, SVOM, LSST
  • Instrumental Projects: LIDAR (HESS), LIDAR RAMAN (CTA)

Team Members

  • Permanent staff
    • Johann Cohen-Tanugi (LSST, Fermi, data analysis, modeling)
    • Justine Devin (HESS, CTA, data analysis, modeling)
    • Yves Gallant (HESS, CTA, data analysis, modeling, theory)
    • Claire Guépin (modeling, theory, CTA, GRAND)
    • Alexandre Marcowith (theory, modeling, HESS, CTA, GRAND)
    • Mathieu Renaud (Fermi, HESS, CTA, data analysis, modeling)
    • Frédéric Piron (Fermi, SVOM, data analysis)
    • Georges Vasileiadis (HESS, CTA, instrumentation)
  • Associate researcher
    • Vincent Guillet (IAS), dust dynamics in the interstellar medium
  • Other researcher
    • Christophe Sauty (LUTH), accretion-ejection processes around young stars and compact objects
  • PhD students
    • Chadi Meskini (2021-2024, supervisors C. Sauty & A. Marcowith) : Sources of heating in accretion-ejection processes around young stellar objects
    • Kélian Sommer (2021-2024, supervisors E. Nuss*(deceased) & B. Plez) : Preparation to cosmological data analysis of the LLST at Vera Rubin observatory: characterization of atmospheric absorption
    • Karim Sabri (2022-2025, supervisor Y. Gallant): Gamma-ray halos around pulsars, results from HESS and perspectives for CTA.
    • Edouard Calliès (2023-2026, supervisors V. Guillet & A. Marcowith): Instabilities in the interstellar medium: dust particles as tracers. Dust dynamics in magnetohydrodynamic turbulence.
  • Post-doctorant fellows
    • Taïs Maiolino (2022-2025, In2p3 contract)
  • Visitors
    • Anabella Araudo
    • Roger Blandford
    • Maria-Grazia Bernardini
    • Andrei Bykov
    • Pierre Cristofari
    • Gloria Dubner
    • Vikram Dwarkadas
    • Don Ellison
    • Elsa Giacani
    • Gwenael Giacinti
    • Claire Guépin
    • Noémie Globus
    • Marco Padovani
    • Arno Vanthieghem
  • Former members of the team
    • J.Bregeon, A.Jacholkowska, A.Falvard, F.Feinstein
  • Former post-doctoral fellows
    • Nukri Komin (2005-2007)
    • Serguei Vorobiov (2009-2011)
    • Vlasios Vasileiou (2011-2013)
    • Carlos Vigh (2012-2014)
    • Marco Padovani (2014-2016)
    • Ryan Chaves (2014-2017)
    • Annabella Araudo (2017)
    • Maria-Grazia Bernardini
    • Quentin Rémy (2017-2019)
    • Atreyee Sinha (2020-2022)
    • Allard Jan van Marle (2020-2022)
    • Anabella Araudo (2020-2022)
  • Former PhD ranked by thesis defense year.
    • Agneszka Pléti (stopped)
    • Sylvain Guiriec (2007)
    • Armand Fiasson (2008)
    • Christian Farnier (2009)
    • Véronique Pelassa (2010)
    • Jérémie Méhault (2011)
    • Lola Faletti (2013)
    • Diane Fernandez-Gangoso (2014)
    • Thibaut Desgardin (2015)
    • Romain Cohet (2016)
    • Manal Yassine (2017)
    • Justine Devin (2018)
    • Michelle Tsirou (2019)
    • Loann Brahimi (2020)
    • Arthur Charlet (2021)
    • Lorenzo Scotton (2022)
    • Valentin Brunn (2023)
    • Aurélia Maiolo (2023)


Team publications